GCBAA Accepting Nominations for Don A. Rossi Award

/ Author: Samantha Huff / Categories: News, Press Room
Rate this article:
No rating

The Rossi Award Committee invites you to nominate an individual for the 2018 GCBAA Don Rossi Award.  The Don Rossi Award is an honor bestowed by the GCBAA on individuals who have made significant contributions to the game of golf and its growth, and who have inspired others by their example.

Don A. Rossi

Don Rossi served as Executive Director of the National Golf Foundation (NGF) from 1970 to 1983 and was instrumental in expanding NGF’s role in the world of golf.  After Mr. Rossi’s retirement from NGF, he served as GCBAA Executive Director from 1984 to 1990.  After his death on March 11, 1990, the GCBAA chose to honor him by instituting the Don Rossi Award, which was given to him posthumously, in 1991, in recognition of his outstanding contributions to the game of golf.

Award Recipients

Since its inception, the Don Rossi Award has been bestowed on the following individuals:


Golf Course Architect

Professional Golfers



Golf Industry







Dr. Joseph Duich

Robert Trent Jones


Brent Wadsworth

Edwin J. Hunter

Don Rossi

Stanley Zontek

Alice O'Neal Dye




Joe Jemsek

Dr. James Beard

Geoffrey Cornish




Karsten Solheim

Dr. Marvin Ferguson

         Arnold Palmer



Doyle Jacklin

Dr. James Watson

          Jack Nicklaus



Deane Beman

 James Moore

Dr. Michael Hurdzan






            Gary Player





Ed Seay






Rees Jones

Byron Nelson





Pete Dye


Bill Kubly







Jim Kirchdorfer, Sr.

Nomination Procedure

Please complete the information below and return this form to the GCBAA office.  As illustrated by the above list, Don Rossi recipients represent all segments of our industry.  In addition to making significant contributions to the game of golf and its growth, recipients have inspired others. It is our intention to continue this honored tradition.

Please complete and return the nomination form using the information below.

Mail: GCBAA · 6040 S. 58th Street, Suite D · Lincoln, NE 68516   E-Mail: samantha_huff@gcbaa.org  Fax: (402) 476-4489

Upon selection, the recipient will be honored at the 2018 Golf Industry Show – San Antonio, TX – February 6, 2018

Please submit your nomination by July 7, 2017. 


Samantha Huff

Other posts by Samantha Huff
Contact author

Please login or register to post comments.